“Devil and the Sea” by Streets of Laredo

Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day' is "Devil and the Sea"

Streets of Laredo have unveiled their new track, “Devil and the Sea” via Canvasback Music (US) / Dine Alone Records (WW). The song is the b-side to the single ‘99.9%’ which was released late last month, and serves as a prelude to the band’s sophomore album, which will be produced by John Agnello (Kurt Vile, Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr.), with plans to release in the fall.

“We all ride the line between the best of us and the worst of us,” the band notes. “Really, this song is about accepting but still wrestling with your humanity…or maybe it’s just about sailing.”

Comprised of close-knit family members Daniel, Dave, and Sarahjane Gibson the Brooklyn by-way-of New Zealand band pulls inspiration from the fervor/madness of the 70’s folk-rock circuit. Streets of Laredo is currently on tour with Shakey Graves. A full list can be found below.

Streets of Laredo On Tour:
July 9 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
July 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
July 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
July 13 – Portsmouth, NH @ Prescott Park*
July 14 – Fairfield, CT @ StageOne
July 15 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre*
July 18 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
July 19 – Memphis, TN @ 1884 Lounge*
July 20 – Fayetteville, AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge*
July 22 – Des Moines, IA @ Wooly’s*
July 23 – Chicago, IL @ Wicker Park Fest
July 25 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
July 27 – Norfolk, VA @ The Norva*
July 28 – Wilmington, NC @ Greenfield Lake Amphitheater*
July 29 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern^
*w/ Shakey Graves
^w/ Lawrence

Streets of Laredo Are:
Daniel Gibson – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Dave Gibson – Percussion, Backing Vocals
Sarahjane Gibson – Vocals, Percussion
Cameron Deyell- Electric Guitars, Backing Vocals
Sean McMahon – Bass, Backing Vocals
Andrew McGovern – Trumpet, Synth, Percussion