Deeper Debut New Single “Run”

Deeper share new single "Run"
Deeper "Run"

Chicago band Deeper have released the new single, “Run” The single is part of a 7″ featuring a cover of John Maus‘ “Bennington,” out September 20th via Fire Talk. Deeper will be hitting the road with fellow Fire Talk recording artists DEHD, starting August 30th in Chicago. Deeper are also working on a new EP, which is due to come out in 2020.

Even the tightest relationships are susceptible to unexpected change. “Run” examines what happens when we’re forced to confront the reality of these relationships and find the courage to walk away for the better. It’s not easy to abandon that image of who we thought we were, but it’s the leap into the unknown that’s the first step to self-actualizing. At first the song wrestles with identity amidst uncertainty, but as it progresses, a confidence emerges that has become the driving force for where Deeper is headed.

Shiraz Bhatti, Nic Gohl, and Drew McBride take a thoughtful and direct approach with their songwriting, yielding spry melodies and inventive structures. It’s a clever combination of jagged post-punk and refined indie rock. A tightly wound rhythm section teeters on the edge, but it’s anchored by intricate guitar interplay and saturated with an enigmatic spirit. Their first album, 2018’s Deeper channeled the anxiety of change in everyday life and navigating the unhinged political atmosphere. “Run” takes a more existential approach, reaching down past the emotion and staring back at the inner.

Deeper have toured with Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and The Districts, while also sharing the stage with Deerhunter, Protomartyr, Jeff Tweedy, and Whitney. They’ve sold out their own headlining shows and official after parties at Pitchfork Festival and Lollapalooza.

Deeper
Live

Fri. Aug. 30 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall #
Tue. Sep. 3 – Washington DC @ Songbyrd DC #
Wed. Sep. 4 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle #
Thur. Sep. 5 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right #
Fri. Sep. 6 – Elizabethtown, NY @ Otis Mountain Get Down #
Mon. Sep. 9 – Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Baubein #
Tue. Sep. 10 – Toronto, ON @ Monarch Tavern #
Thu. Sep. 12 – Indianapolis, IN @ State Street Pub
Sat. Sep. 14 – Minneapolis, Minnesota @ Seventh Street Entry with Hatchie
Fri. Oct. 18 – Rotterdam, NL @ Left of the Dial Festival
Sat. Oct. 19 – London, UK @ Shacklewell Arms
Sun. Oct. 20 – Norwich, UK @ Wild Paths Festival
Mon. Oct. 21 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Tue. Oct. 22 – Leeds, UK @ Headrow House
Thur. Oct. 24 – Bristol, UK @ Crofters Rights
Fri. Oct. 25 – Ipswich, UK @ Smokehouse
Sat. Oct. 26 – Lille, FR @ La Malterie
Sun. Oct. 27 – Ghent, BE @ Kinky Star
Mon. Oct. 28 – Paris, FR @ Supersonic

# = with Dehd