Death Vessel Share Song From Upcoming Album

Sub Pop to Release Island Intervals by Death Vessel on 2/24 in Europe and 2/25 in North America. Listen to the first single "Ilsa Drown" (ft. Jónsi) today.

Death Vessel album, Island Intervals! The 2014  follow-up to the band’s label debut (Nothing Is Precious Enough for Us) will be available worldwide on CD/LP/DL February 24th in Europe and February 25th in North America on Sub Pop. The 8-song album includes the singles “Mercury Dime,” “Velvet Antlers,” and “Ilsa Drown,” which features guest vocals from Jónsi, who also co-wrote the track. Island Intervals was produced by Alex Somers (Julianna Barwick, Sigur Rós) at his studio in Reykjavík, Iceland. You can find a tracklisting below.

More About Death Vessel (from Shearwater’s Jonathan Meiburg):

Like Nico’s, Jimmy Scott’s, or Phil Elverum’s, Joel Thibodeau’s is a voice that demands its own sonic and lyrical world, and with Island Intervals, his third record as Death Vessel (and second for Sub Pop). Joel is an inveterate and intuitive wanderer; when I met him years ago, he’d just spent a few months traveling the United States on Greyhound buses, sometimes sleeping rough, and making a record from found moments. I remember he had an otherworldly quality about him that I couldn’t quite name, like he’d just blown in on the wind (read more at Sub Pop).

Island Intervals


1. Ejecta

2. Velvet Antlers

3. Triangulated Heart

4. Mercury Dime

5. Ilsa Drown

6. Island Vapors

7. We Agreed

8. Loom

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.