Deaf Wish announce new LP ‘Pain’ on Sub Pop

Deaf Wish announce new LP 'Pain' to be released on Sub Pop Records, share the first single "Eyes Closes."

Australian band Deaf Wish will release their debut full-length album Pain for Sub Pop, on CD/LP/DL worldwide August 7th. Pain, features the tracks “Eyes Closed,” “Calypso,” and the title track, was recorded & produced by the band at Reservoir, Victoria, mixed by Mikey Young and mastered by April Golden at Golden Mastering. Pain is the follow up to their label debut, the 4-song St. Vincent’s 7” single, released last October. The band has shared the track “Eyes Closed,” which you can listen to below.

When Deaf Wish found themselves in a room together for the very first time, they agreed on a guiding philosophy: “Let’s not make anything that’s going to last. If we’re together for just two shows, then that’s what it is.”

Over the course of eight years, the Melbourne foursome—bassist Nick Pratt, drummer Daniel Twomey and guitarists Sarah Hardiman and Jensen Tjhung, with each member contributing vocals—have released run of wooly seven-inches and white-knuckle LPs whose legendary live translation has been most accurately described as “unhinged.” All this despite their being scattered across multiple continents, with no way of getting to know one another outside of intermittent touring. “We didn’t really know what this band was,” Tjhung says. “We had something, but it wasn’t clear—we had to figure out what that was.”

Deaf Wish
1. The Whip
2. Newness Again
3. They Know
4. Sunset’s Fool
5. Eyes Closed
6. Pain
7. Sex Witch
8. On
9. Dead Air
10. Calypso

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.