“Dance For You” by Empress Of

Lorely Rodriguez aka Empress Of announces her EP Save Me due June 24th. The EP was written over the course of 2021. Many of the songs reflect on the end of a relationship without wallowing in regret. Lorely pulls inspiration from Cocteau Twins, Björk and Robyn in the same breath, continuing to display her ability to cross various genres and styles with ease. Along with the announcement of Save Me, Lorely shares the single “Dance For You,” which arrives accompanied by visuals directed by Alexis Gómez.

Speaking about the meaning behind “Dance For You,” Lorely says: “I love the lyrics on this song. I made this in Minneapolis with BJ Burton. It was freezing outside. I was in a cave-like studio in the snow literally dancing as I wrote this. ‘Surrender to me like this’ is a touching lyric for me because I’m not hurt over this person anymore. I’ve come out the other side.”

Save Me, the latest release from Lorely Rodriguez, a.k.a. Empress Of, is a heartbreak album—without the broken part. The five-song EP, written and recorded over the course of 2021, showcases Lorely in transition as she moves forward from her third album I’m Your Empress Of, released in 2020. Save Me is both a continuation of that album and a bridge into the next chapter of Lorely’s career.

On Save Me Lorely draws inspiration from Cocteau Twins, Bjork and Robyn in the same breath, and the songs here hint at what’s to come from her fourth album. In recent years, she’s toured with Lizzo, Blood Orange, Maggie Rogers and Mura Masa and collaborated with Khalid, MØ, DJDS and KITO. As Lorely heads back out on tour, playing her first shows since the pandemic, she feels herself standing on the cusp of something new.

Empress Of
Save Me EP

1. Save Me
2. Dance For You
3. Turn The Table
4. Kept Up
5. Cry For Help

Pre-order Save Me by Empress Of HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.