Daft Punk Announce “Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition)”

Daft Punk Announce "Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition)"
Daft Punk Photo By David Black

The 10th anniversary celebration of Daft Punk’s album Random Access Memories continues with today’s pre-order launch of Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition).

Following the release of the critically acclaimed Random Access Memories 10th Anniversary Edition earlier this year, this new iteration of the GRAMMY-award winning Album of the Year strips away all drum and percussive elements from the album. Doing so brings out a timeless quality to the album, giving listeners the ability to dive deeper into the layers of each track.

The experience of the album without drums creates an entirely new experience, and tracks are transformed. “Within (Drumless Edition)” is the first track off the album available today. Stripped of percussion, this new version highlights the track’s timeless structure, and Chilly Gonzales’s piano gains an even more pensive, self-reflective quality.

As part of the 10 year anniversary of Random Access Memories, Daft Punk unveiled “Memory Tapes,” a look back at the album’s creation by collaborators including Julian Casablancas, Chilly Gonzales, DJ Falcon and Todd Edwards. Episodes with Pharrell Williams, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams and Chris Caswell are forthcoming. Interviews for “Memory Tapes” were conducted at Henson Studios in Los Angeles and Gang Studios in Paris, in spaces where much of Random Access Memories was recorded, and where the collaborators worked. Each episode includes a new interview as well as archival footage and never before seen studio footage of Daft Punk as they crafted what became their final album.

Watch “Memory Tapes” HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.