CYMBALS Share “Erosion” Off Upcoming Album

CYMBALS debuts "Erosion" from The Age of Fracture, out 2/4 on Tough Love Records

Today, CYMBALS shares their first new single since announcing The Age of Fracture. “Erosion”.

The  new album from CYMBALS is named after a book by Princeton academic, Daniel T. Rodgers, which addresses the fragmentation of ideas towards the end of the last century and how collective meanings have become uncertain. Singer and guitarist Jack Cleverly writes: “It hit me that I often feel paralyzed by the feeling that everything is ‘too complicated’, and that many people I know feel that paralysis. I realized that this way of thinking can be traced through these songs.”

Produced by Dreamtrak (Swim Deep, Chad Valley, Hot Chip) in his Hackney studio and written collectively over the last 12-months, the group have taken their time to carefully piece the album together, song-by-song, in sequence. The album was completed following a final mix from Daniel Rejmer (Foals, Everything Everything).

The literary inspiration runs further through the album. Even garnered literary responses of its own by British poet and novelist Joe Dunthorne, author of Submarine. Last week, CYMBALS shared this short film here.

“We’ve never been in it just for a laugh,” says Cleverly; “but things got confused when we said we wanted to keep it fun – we just didn’t want to end up bitter, having chased a hollow dream.  But this album is less about us; it’s more outward looking, more aware of the world at large.”  “I hate the whole ‘serious earnest-singer-songwriter-thing,'” says Jack. “With this album I really wanted to get away from that and make music that makes people want to dance and feel joy. Neil’s kick drum is the most important thing we have to say as a band. Is this all “fun”?  Yes, of course, but at the same time, not just that.”


The Age of Fracture
(Tough Love Records)
Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
1. Winter ’98
2. The Natural World
3. You Are
4. Empty Space
5. The 5%
6. The Fracture of Age
7. Like An Animal
8. Erosion
9. This City
10. The End
11. Call Me

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.