Cruel Drop New EP ‘Common Rituals’

Cruel Drop New EP 'Common Rituals.' The Chicago band's new album is now available via Fire Talk Records and DSPs
Cruel Photo by Yailene Levya

Chicago band Cruel have dropped their debut EP, Common Rituals, along with a video for album track “Damage.” The track follows the lead single “Gutter,” and the recently-shared “Demeanor,” which was featured as Song of the Day by Northern Transmissions.

The four tracks on Common Rituals inject confident melodies into Chicago’s long tradition of fuzzed-out indie rock; intuitive riffs are nuzzled in each track, begging to be left on repeat. To help achieve their fully-formed sound, Cruel — vocalist/guitarist Michael Schrieber, bassist Jen Ashley, guitarist Jack Kelsey, and drummer Brent Favata — enlisted studio stalwarts Jack Henry (Friko, Free Range, Horsegirl) to record and mix, and Greg Obis (Stuck) to master. To celebrate the release of Common Rituals, Cruel will perform a hometown record release show at the Empty Bottle on Thursday, November 11th. Tickets are on sale now and available here.

Common Rituals
Track List
Angel Tapes/Fire Talk Records

1. Gutter
2. Damage
3. Demeanor
4. Tuesday

Angel Tapes is the new Chicago-based imprint of Fire Talk Records. With an emphasis on emergent talent, Angel Tapes offers a platform for developing artists to release music in good faith

Order Common Rituals by Cruel HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.