“Crashing Against The Sun” Heather Woods Broderick

Heather Woods Broderick today announced her fifth full-length album, Labyrinth, will be released on April 7th, 2023, via Western Vinyl. Along with the news, Woods has shared the album’s second single, “Crashing Against The Sun,” alongside a video directed by Jeremy Johnstone. Of the song, Broderick says, “‘Crashing Against The Sun’ is about coming to terms with the realities of today, and moving through the present with a presence of mind and recognition of all the possibilities the future holds. It’s about what we cling to as reassurance or validation in our world, and how these things are often fleeting. The song illustrates a curiosity as to how those same sentiments can also have dual existence and present positivity. The subtleties of existence are full of variability. Our experience can often feel redundant, but uniqueness lies in the details. Essentially, time flies, enjoy the ride.”

“Crashing Against The Sun” follows November’s “Blood Run Through Me,” an additional album track that features vocals from Labyrinth co-producer D. James Goodwin and singer-songwriter Lisa Hannigan.

Broderick began writing Labyrinth in March 2020, when most forms of movement were brought to a screeching halt. The Maine-born, Los Angeles-based songwriter — who, in addition to her work as a solo musician, built a life playing and touring with acts such as Sharon Van Etten, Beth Orton, Damien Jurado, and Efterklang — was suddenly forced off the road for the first time in her career. She used this disruption as an opportunity to pare down her creation process and construct the scaffolding for Labyrinth in her apartment. Employing only the most crucial tools at her disposal, Broderick found herself opening different artistic doors as she focused on sharpening her recording skills, capturing the majority of the album on her own before finishing the remainder with Goodwin.

Heather Woods Broderick
track listing
Western Vinyl

1. As I Left
2. I Want To Go
3. Admiration
4. Crashing Against The Sun
5. Wandering
6. Wherever I Go
7. Tiny Receptors
8. Blood Run Through Me
9. Seemed A River
10. What Does Love Care


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.