Courtney Barnett Shares “Before You Gotta Go”

Courtney Barnett has shared “Before You Gotta Go,”
Courtney Barnett shares “Before You Gotta Go"

Courtney Barnett has shared “Before You Gotta Go,” the track is off her forthcoming album Things Take Time, Take Time, available November 12, via Mom+Pop Music/Marathon Artists. Barnett will tour North America between November and February 2022 and has just added additional shows in New Haven, Connecticut and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Tickets to those shows are on sale on Thursday, August 12.

On “Before You Gotta Go,” ”Barnett and co-producer Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint, Cate le Bon, Kurt Vile) performing an elegant illusion; starting with a simple warm drone, they add myriad layers of synth, guitars, drums and percussion in slow crescendo. There’s a lot going on, yet they create a sense of boundless space.

“Sometimes I try to say everything in one song, or put my whole belief system into a vox pop, but you just can’t do that — it’s impossible,” Courtney says. Things Take Time, Take Time, then, represents a realisation that ideology is represented through the way you treat others, not what you say in a song — that some things are more felt than said. This is Courtney’s world – full of the strangeness, busyness and undeniable warmth of life – and you will definitely want to spend some time in it.

Courtney Barnett
Things Take Time, Take Time
Track List

Rae Street
Sunfair Sundown
Here’s the Thing
Before You Gotta Go
Turning Green
Take it Day By Day
If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight
Write a List of Things to Look Forward To
Splendour
Oh the Night

Courtney Barnett
Live Dates

Sat September 25 – Marfa, TX at Trans-Pecos Festival (solo)
Mon November 29 – Las Vegas, NA @ Brooklyn Bowl with Bedouine
Tues December 1 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory with Bedouine
Thurs December 2 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Depot with Bedouine
Sat December 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ Van Buren with Bartees Strange
Sun December 5 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park with Bartees Strange
Thu, December 9 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theater at Ace Hotel with Warpaint
Fri December 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Ace with Bartees Strange
Sun December 12 – Oakland, CA @ The Fox with Bartees Strange
Tues December 14 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount with Bartees Strange
Wed December 15 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore
Sat January 22 – Minneapolis, MN @ Palace Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Sun January 23 – Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Thurs January 22 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater
Tues January 25 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Wed January 26 – Columbus, OH @ Express Live with Julia Jacklin
Fri January 28 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman with Julia Jacklin
Sat January 29 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern with Julia Jacklin
Mon January 31 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel with Shamir
Wed February 2 – Washington DC @ 9:30 Club with Shamir
Thurs February 3 – Washington DC @ 9:30 Club with Shamir
Fri February 4 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Met with Julia Jacklin
Sat February 5 – New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall with Julia Jacklin
Mon February 7 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
Tues February 8 – Boston, MA @ Wang Theatre with Shamir
Thurs February 10 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground with Shamir
Fri February 11 – Montreal, QC @ Mtelus with Shamir
Sat February 12 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall with Shamir

PRE-SAVE THINGS TAKE TIME, TAKE TIME HERE: