“Cold” By Nisa

Singer/songwriter Nisa, recently shared a video for her single “Cold.” The track is off her forthcoming release Time To Plant Tears, which drops on on December 2, 2021.

Early in 2021, the 22-year-old – full name Nisa Lumaj – began work on a new collection of songs that would make up the forthcoming EP, Time To Plant Tears. The title takes its name from the final stanza of an Elizabeth Bishop poem called Sestina. Working together with collaborator and producer, Ronnie Di Simone, the songs were recorded between Brooklyn’s Studio G and the Brick Box studio. In describing the mood of the EP, Nisa has said that the songs are centered around “confrontation and focus; weathering internal and external changes; desire, and emotional rebirth.” Intersecting cinematic and poetic frames of reference, it lands between what is said and what is felt.

“Cold,” was written with frequent collaborator, Fritz Ortman, draws on 80s inspired guitar tones whilst further demonstrating Nisa’s growing understanding of songwriting and melody. Speaking about the writing of the song, Nisa explains: “Fritz —my close friend and frequent collaborator—wrote “Cold” with the Cars’ “Just What I Needed” in mind. We demoed it a few different ways before deciding to fully lean into the 80s with the chorus, and brought it to Ronnie [di Simone], producer, who came up with the thunderous, Adrien Beluga-inspired solo.”

The accompanying video was shot in Stony Point, New York with the director, Ben Klein. Speaking about the visual for “Cold”, Nisa says: “For the “Cold” music video, Ben and I wanted to see what would happen if we combined the “hell hath no fury” trope with our favorite elements of classic Halloween slasher movies.”

Born to Albanian immigrants in the Bronx, Nisa learned to speak Albanian before English and grew up listening to the traditional folk music of her parent’s native country. It wasn’t long before she began venturing out into what she describes to be a “diverse and accepting arts community,” playing regularly at open mic nights in high school and joining a rock collective in Manhattan’s Lower East Side.

Time To Plant Tears EP
Track List

1. St James Gate
2. Cold
3. We’re In For It
4. Optic Nerve
5. The Savior
6. Unthinkable

Pre-order Time To Plant Tears by Nisa HERE