Cloakroom Debut “Fear of Being Fixed”

Cloakroom have released their new single “Fear of Being Fixed”
Cloakroom photo by Vic Romero

Cloakroom have dropped the final single “Fear of Being Fixed” off their forthcoming studio album Dissolution Wave. The album will be available on January 28, via Relapse. Dissolution Wave is described a “universe created by Cloakroom guitarist/vocalist Doyle Martin as a way of processing the last few years.” “We lost a couple of close friends over the course of writing this record,” he says. “Dreaming up another world felt easier to digest than the real nitty-gritty we’re immersed in every day.”

With lyrics based on an imagined cosmology, Dissolution Wave also marks a grand expansion of Cloakroom’s dynamic space-rock palette and lands for Cloakroom’s tenth anniversary as a band. It’s their third studio album, and first with drummer Tim Remis who joined Doyle and bassist Bobby Markos in 2019. Recorded at Earth Analog in Tolono, IL, the album features loops and piano on “Doubts” by Matt Talbott (HUM), exterior percussion on “Lost Meaning” by Jason Gagovski (Sweet Cobra) and was engineered and mixed by Cloakroom’s longtime soundman (and childhood friend), Zac Montez.

Dissolution Wave
Relapse Records
Track List

1. Lost Meaning (Official Lyric Video)
2. Dissolution Wave
3. A Force At Play (Official Music Video)
4. Dottie back Thrash
5. Fear Of Being Fixed
6. Lambspring
7. Doubts
8. Dissembler

Live Dates

1/28: Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle w/ Matt Talbott

Pre-order Dissolution Wave by Cloakroom HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.