Circuit Des Yeux Release ‘Live in Chicago’

Circuit Des Yeux Release 'Live in Chicago'
Circuit Des Yeux Release 'Live in Chicago'

Last fall, Circuit des Yeux (Haley Fohr) was invited to record a 4-song live session at Jamdek studio in Chicago. These recordings capture the music from her 2021 album -io at the outset of its transition from studio to stage, including band arrangements of the compositions “Vanishing,” “Dogma,” “Sculpting the Exodus,” and “Stranger.” Fohr was joined on these performances by the musicians Whitney Johnson (Matchess), Andrew Scott Young, and Ashley Guerrero. Today, Matador Records is releasing these four tracks digitally as Live From Chicago. Circuit des Yeux will be on the road throughout the summer and fall, bringing -io to audiences in North America, Europe, and the UK.

In February, CdY released the brand-new song and video, “The Manatee (A Story of This World Pt. III.” Recorded during the sessions for -io, “The Manatee” is a shift in mood – serene astral folk sewn up with whirring aquatic interludes.

-io is the sixth album and Matador Records debut by Circuit des Yeux (Haley Fohr). It is her most ornate and elaborate work to date – a set of compositions that nest the singer’s otherworldly four-octave voice amid a 24-piece string, brass, and wind ensemble. While Fohr’s music has never been short on ambition, these songs are striking in their brilliance and strangeness. On -io, Circuit des Yeux has delivered a work that is vivid, immense, and fully illuminated.

Circuit des Yeux
Live in Chicago
Matador Records
Track List

Vanishing
Dogma
Sculpting the Exodus
Stranger

Haley Fohr: vocals, guitar, bass, piano.
Whitney Johnson: viola, violin.
Andrew Scott Young: bass, guitar, cello.
Ashley Guerrero : drums

Circuit Des Yeux
2022 TOUR DATES

Thu. June 2 – Louisville, KY @ Decca
Fri. June 3 – Memphis, TN @ Crosstown Arts
Sat. June 4 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sun. June 5 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Mon. June 6 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Tue. June 7 @ Green-Wood Cemetery (Pioneer Works)
Thu. June 9 – Brattleboro, VT @ Epsilon Spires
Fri. June 10 – Montreal, QC @ Centre PHI
Sat. June 11 – Ottawa, ON @ Arts Court
Mon. June 13 – Toronto, ON – 918 Bathurst – Wavelength Music Series
Tue. June 14 – Detroit, MI @ Trinosophes
Thu. June 16 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation
Fri. June 17 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation
Wed. August 24 – Helsinki, FI @ Helsinki Festival
Sat. August 27 – Leira, PT @ Extramuralhas Festival
Sun. August 28 @ Antwerpen, BE @ Whisper
Tue. August 30 – Birkenhead, UK @ Future Yard
Wed. August 31 – Edinburgh, UK @ Summerhall
Fri. September 2 – Lamer Tree Gardens, UK @ End of The Road Festival
Sat. September 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Mon. September 5 – Dublin, IE @ National Concert Hall
Mon. October 3 – Stockholm, SE @ Slaktkyrkan
Tue. October 4 – Oslo, NO @ Bla
Wed. October 5 – Göteborg, SE @ FOLK
Thu. October 6 – Copenhagen, DK @ ALICE / Valby Kulturhus
Sat. October 8 – Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory
Mon. October 10 – Budapest, HU @ Turbina
Tue. October 11 – Vienna, AT @ Volkstheater
Wed. October 12 – Ljubljana @ Linhart Hall / Cankarjev dom
Thu. October 13 – Bologna, IT @ Freakout
Frid. October 14 – Grenoble, FR @ Le Ciel
Tue. October 18 – Madrid, ES @ Café Berlin
Wed. October 19 – Lisbon, PT @ Culturgest
Thu. October 20 – Braga, PT @ Gnration
Fri. October 21 – Espinho, PT @ Auditorio de Espinho

Order Live in Chicago by Circuit Des Yeux HERE