Chvrches Debut “Talking In My Sleep”

Chvrches Debut “Talking In My Sleep." The track is off the trio's new album The Bones Of What You Believe 10, available October 20th
Chvrches photo by Eliot Hazel

CHVRCHES have shared “Talking In My Sleep,” the second single off their forthcoming 10 Year Anniversary of their debut album The Bones Of What You Believe, available October 20th via Universal Music Recordings/five live recordings. The Special Edition features a series of previously unheard songs recorded during the making of the album, including “Talking In My Sleep.”

“It feels quite strange that Bones is almost a decade old,” says Lauren Mayberry. “In some ways, it’s like it just happened, but also like that era was a lifetime ago. We are very grateful to all the fans who gave that album a special place in their heart, and still show us so much kindness today.”

The album was produced by the band and recorded in Cook’s Alucard Studio in Glasgow, before being mixed by Rich Costey (Arctic Monkeys, Sigur Rós). The original album has been remastered for this Special Edition by Gavin Lurssen, who mastered the band’s most recent album Screen Violence. Alongside the original 12 tracks, there are four previously unheard songs and five live tracks, the latter recorded at Ancienne Belgique in 2013.

Says Cook: “Some of the main sources of inspiration for our first album, including ‘Talking In My Sleep’ were artists that we all share a love for, and a lot of stuff from the 80s. Kate Bush (particularly the Hounds of Love album), Depeche Mode, Prince, Michael Jackson, and also a bunch of the blog-led indie pop music that was around in 2010. Martin particularly was really invested in that stuff and was bringing a lot of fresh sounds and ideas mixed with the classic 80’s pop influences that we all loved.”

The 12 songs that make up The Bones of What You Believe are linked by their humanity but Mayberry’s lyrics are abstract and strangely inspirational. “With teeth we’ve come this far, I’ll take this thing by the throat and walk away,” she sings on “By The Throat”: everywhere, the imagery of flesh and blood, love and hope, rub up against Doherty and Cook’s aggressive synth fills and spluttering fanfares.

The Bones Of What You Believe 10

1. The Mother We Share
2. We Sink
3. Gun
4. Tether
5. Lies
6. Under The Tide
7. Recover
8. Night Sky
9. Science/Visions
10. Lungs
11. By The Throat
12. You Caught The Light
13. Manhattan
14. White Summer
15. Talking In My Sleep
16. City On Fire
17. We Sink (Live)
18. Now Is Not The Time (Live)
19. Lies (Live)
20. Strong Hand (Live)
21. By The Throat (Live)

Pre-Order The Bones Of What You Believe BY Chvrches (10th Anniversary Edition) HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.