“Cherry Tree” Sam Evian

Sam Evian (a.k.a. Sam Owens) has released two new singles, prior to hitting the road with Cass McCombs in March U.K. headline tour in August. “Cherry Tree” and “Roses” are available via Saddle Creek as a limited edition 7”.

Both songs shine a light on the evolution of Sam Evian’s music. “Cherry Tree” is a daydream of the first warm hints of spring, which came to Sam as he took in the sun under a cherry tree in New York’s Central Park. It was also the first song that Sam Owens ever released as Sam Evian.

“Roses,” an unreleased song from the You, Forever sessions, offers a lyrically complex but equally reflective outlook as its 7” counterpart. “I’d like to travel freely and see the old roads that I’ve known…”

Sam will get to do lots of driving in the next several months. New dates are announced recently, including appearances at End of the Road Festival and Manchester Psych Fest, as well as UK headlining shows. Additionally, new shows have been added to the previously announced North American tour with Cass McCombs.

Sam Evian
Tour Dates

Mon. March 4 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage *
Tue. March 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Café Live *
Thu. March 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr *
Fri. March 8 – NY, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Sat. March 9 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Sun. March 10 – Montreal, ONT @ Bar le Ritz
Mon. March 11 – Toronto, ONT @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Tue. March 12 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom *
Thu. March 14 – Nashville, TN @ EXIT/IN *
Fri. March 15 – Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi *
Sat. March 16 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Sun. March 17 – Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee *
Mon. March 18 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *
Wed. March 20 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre *
Sat. March 23 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room *
Mon. March 25 – Vancouver, BC @ St. James Hall *
Tue. March 26 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey *
Wed. March 27 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre *
Fri. March 29 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *
Sat. March 30 – LA, CA @ The Fonda Theatre *
Sun. March 31 – Las Vegas, NV @ Beauty Bar *
Tue. April 2 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Soho *
Wed. April 3 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ A Satellite of Love
Thu. April 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Moe’s Alley *
Fri. April 5 – SF, CA @ The Fillmore *
Tue. April 9 – Omaha, NB @ HiFi House (solo)
Thu. April 11 – Ft. Wayne, IN @ B Side (solo)
Tue. Aug. 27 – London, UK @ The Lexington
Wed. Aug. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Thu. Aug. 29 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug and Pint
Fri. Aug. 30 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Sat. Aug. 31 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival

* w/Cass McCombs

You, Forever was recorded on eight-track reel-to-reel tape in a house in upstate New York with Brian Betancourt (bass), Austin Vaughn (drums), Adam Brisbin (guitar), and Hannah Cohen (backup vocals) and is available to purchase from Saddle Creek here.