“Chemical Trails” by M Craft

M Craft’s forthcoming release Blood Moon is due for release on June 17th via Heavenly Recordings. Today, he has unveiled a new video, for the single “Chemical Trails.” Directed by George Byrne and shot around Palm Springs, the video captures the dreamy, drifty essence of the track, which is loosely about the way we all shine in the light, all too briefly, then fade away. Of the video Craft says: “George Byrne is a friend of mine who lives in LA. I love his photography so was very happy when he liked my record and wanted to work with me. We wanted to match the improvisational quality of the record so we kept the plans loose, and jumped in our cars and spent a day filming around Palm Springs before stopping to do some underwater shots at a friends’ house. We both love the director Terence Malick and wanted to capture his pace and meditative quality.”

Living in a cabin on the edge of the Mojave desert, M. CRAFT discovered that isolation loves a soundtrack. Without the usual urban chaos to disturb the natural order, the volume of the eco-system rose on everything within earshot: “The silence around Joshua Tree is otherworldly, deep, almost impossible,” says Craft.

Blood Moon – M. Craft’s third full album – is very much a score for seclusion. Inspired by witnessing the titular lunar event twice during his time as a desert resident, Blood Moon began life in a studio in nearby Los Angeles as a series of unstructured, experimental piano pieces. “I’d long been planning a piano-based record and I found a recording studio in Echo Park with a hundred-year-old Mason and Hamlin concert grand piano.” says Craft. “I simply sat down and improvised, with no plans or direction. Over a few months of these sessions, I ended up with several hour-long pieces of piano music. Taking everything back to the desert, I started to carve shapes from these pieces and songs started to form.”

“I hope the record takes the listener off into the clear night air of Joshua Tree, that profound, neon-flecked silence, the star-spangled skies of the Mojave desert, under that lonely little sphere of rock caught in a red shadow.”

Blood Moon tracklisting:

1. New Horizons

2. Blood Moon

3. Chemical Trails

4. Afterglow

5. Midnight

6. Love Is The Devil

7. Me and My Shadow

8. Morphic Fields

9. Where go the Dreams

10. Love is All


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.