Chai stream new album ‘Punk’

Japanese female quartet CHAI, will release their new album PUNK on March 15th via Burger Records. Speaking of Hello Kitty and “kawaii” (“cute”) culture
Chai 'PUNK'

Japanese female quartet CHAI, will release their new album PUNK on March 15th via Burger Records. Speaking of Hello Kitty and “kawaii” (“cute”) culture, the band takes their home country’s beauty and cuteness norms to task, coining a new concept they call “Neo-Kawaii” (or “new cute”). The band are playing a handful of dates at SXSW 2019, as well a run of recently announced North American tour dates. A head of the album’s release, the group are sharing Punk courtesy of NPR. now available to listen to, below.

CHAI
Live Dates

Wed. March 13 – Austin, TX – Paradigm @ Mohawk (2:00 PM)
Thu. March 14 – Austin, TX – Dr. Martens @ Container Bar (2:00 PM)
Thu. March 14 – Austin, TX – Levitation @ Hotel Vegas (4:35 PM)
Thu. March 14 – Austin, TX – She Shreds @ Cheer Up Charlies (1:05 AM)
Fri. March 15 – Austin, TX – Adhoc Free For All @ Cheer Up Charlies (3:30 PM)
Fri. March 15 – Austin, TX – Rolling Stone @ Native Hostel (9:30 PM)
Sat. March 16 – Austin, TX – Volcom @ Volcom Garden (4:00 PM)
Sat. March 16 – Austin, TX – Burger Records @ Hotel Vegas (7:15 PM)
Mon. Mar. 18 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Tue. Mar. 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel
Wed. Mar. 20 – Toronto, ON @ The Velvet Underground
Fri. Mar. 22 – Sat. Mar. 23 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Mon. Mar. 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Moroccan Lounge
Wed. Mar. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Fri. Mar. 29 – Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project
Sat. Mar. 30 – Portland, OR @ Holocene
Fri. July 19 – Sun. July 21 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Listen to Chai’s PUNK here