Caribou Releases Suddenly Remixes

Caribou Releases Suddenly Remixe
Caribou Releases Suddenly Remixe

To celebrate the one year anniversary of his full-length Suddenly, Dan Snaith aka Caribou today shares the collection Suddenly Remixes. The album is comprised of 12 tracks including three unreleased remixes by Toro y Moi, Jessy Lanza, and Prince Nifty. Along with the release Snaith commissioned his long time friend Richard Kenworthy (Shynola) to animate a visual to accompany the Toro y Moi remix of ‘Home’.

Speaking of the remix Snaith says:
“Chaz is an incredible musician fluent in seemingly every musical vocabulary but with a sensibility all his own. His remix is like an Alexander Calder mobile or a Kandinsky painting where the musical geometries of the original song circle each other in space.”

Director Richard Kenworthy says of the video:
“When I first heard the mix I was taken aback – he’s pulled the song apart, laid all the bits on the floor and made a minimalist sculpture out of little wiggly pieces. So similarly I want to strip this right back and focus on minute details by making a sort of scratch film – the kind of animation which got me interested in animation in the first place. The idea is that each day I would isolate a tiny fragment of the song and hand animate some little doodles by scratching into black. No preconceived end goal, just whatever occurs to me daily, so it has an improvised, freewheeling, dreamlike and fragmented quality. Just little weird details and evaporating thoughts. Little fleeting sketches.”

Suddenly Remixes
Merge Records

1. Never Come Back (Koreless Remix)
2. Never Come Back (Four Tet Remix)
3. Home (Toro y Moi Remix) NEW
4. Sunny’s Time (Logic1000 Remix)
5. Sister (Floating Points Remix)
6. Ravi (Shanti Celeste Remix)
7. You and I (Jessy Lanza Mix) NEW
8. Sunnys Time (Prince Nifty Saddle Up Mix) NEW
9. Never Come Back (Floating Points Remix)
10. Never Come Back (Morgan Geist Remix)
11. Sunny’s Time (Kareem Ali Remix)
12. Like I Loved You (India Jordan Remix)

Order Suddenly Remixes by Caribou HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.