BUKE & GASE Announce “Function Falls” EP, Out September 11th, Add Tour Dates With Deerhoof

Enter: the “Function Falls” EP. The band had the opportunity to cover New Order’s “Blue Monday” for a recent Radiolab episode about colors, which randomly inspired a creative personal challenge: write a song per day during the course of one week. Though the band fell a bit short, they ended up with three songs they liked, which, along with “Blue Monday,” they’ll be releasing on this digital-only EP on September 11th via Brassland.

The first track off the EP, “Misshaping Introduction,” came about through improvisation with the band’s singular and homemade musical equipment and a computer. The vocals were largely improvised, resulting in a slight lyrical disintegration. After enlightening the end of the song with actual lyrics, however, it turned out to be more of a dessert dish, perhaps a warm olive oil cake, topped with shaved 80% dark chocolate, candied pignolas, and a light dusting of sea salt.

PRE-ORDER “FUNCTION FALLS” EP HERE

“FUNCTION FALLS” EP TRACKLISTING

1. Misshaping Introduction

2. Fussrate

3. Tending the Talk

4. Blue Monday

Just about a week after the EP drops on the digital world, the band will embark on a tour spanning nearly a month, taking Arone and Aron from Brooklyn to the west coast, through the south, and back up eastern seaboard. They’ll be joined for the trip out west by partners-in-rhythm, Deerhoof.

BUKE & GASE TOUR DATES

Mon. Sep. 17 Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *

Tue. Sep. 18 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East *

Wed. Sep. 19 – Montreal, QC Pop Montreal @ Cabaret Mile End *

Fri. Sep. 21 – Lexington, KY Boomslang Fest @ Cosmic Charlie’s *

Sat. Sep. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s (2 shows – early and late) *

Sun. Sep. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ Brick

Mon. Sep. 24 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room *

Tue. Sep. 25 – Denver, CO @ Hi Dive

Thu. Sep. 27 – Boise, ID @ Visual Arts Collective *

Fri. Sep. 28 – Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project *

Sat. Sep. 29 – Portland, OR @ Branx *

Sun. Sep. 30 – Arcata, CA The Depot @ Humbolt State *

Mon. Oct. 1 – San Francisoc, CA @ Slim’s *

Tue. Oct. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex *

Fri. Oct. 5 – Austin, TX @ Red 7

Sat. Oct. 6 – Dallas, TX @ City Tavern

Mon. Oct. 8 – Atlanta, GA @ 529

Tue. Oct. 9 – Chapel Hill, NC @ 506

Wed. Oct. 10 – Washington, DC @ DC9

Thu. Oct. 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie

Fri. Oct. 12 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge

Fri. Dec. 7 – Sun. Dec. 9 – Minehead, UK @ All Tomorrow’s Parties

* – w/ Deerhoof

Download EP cover art and hi-res photos here.

Buke & Gase Online:

http://www.bukeandgase.com/

https://www.facebook.com/bukeandgase

http://bukeandgase.bandcamp.com/