“Broken Mirror” by Thieves Like Us

Swedish/American trio Thieves Like Us recently dropped their new video for “Broken Mirror”, taken from their forthcoming, self-titled album, set for release on April 7 through Seayou/Rough Trade Records. “Broken Mirror” follows in the footsteps of its predecessor “Jennifer”. Its retro ’80s vibe and raw sound steers the band into more lo-fi territory.

After a four-year hiatus, Thieves Like Us will be their fifth record. Named after a New Order song, the band tracked and produced the new album in late 2015. The record reinvents the band’s aesthetic with the introduction of live bass (Thomas Franklin) and drums (Tore Knipping). Guitarist Chris Wackrow and his guitar overdubs delicately fill out the rhythmic spaces, while backing singers Martine Duverglas, Mia Von Matt, and Monika Martinez help to fill out Andy Grier’s airy vocals, elevating the music to a more modern rock sound.

Thieves Like Us is based in Berlin, but made up of musicians from across the globe. Starting out as DJs, they soon evolved into a full band that blends electronic, rock, and pop music. Originally discovered by French Kitsuné Records, the band also released their previous record Bleed Bleed Bleed on Captured Tracks in the US.

The new full-length album Thieves Like Us will be out on April 7, 2017 worldwide through Seayou Records/Rough Trade. The artwork depicts a re-enactment of Hans Conrad Schumann’s iconic jump from communist German Democratic Republic to freedom; by a black woman wearing the same pilot suit that singer Andy Grier’s father wore in Vietnam.

Thieves Like Us tracklist:
1. Dani
2. Tears
3. Moon
4. E-problems
5. Child Star
6. Broken Mirror
7. Israel
8. Shake The Light
9. Jennifer



Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.