Brendan Perry Reissues Eye of the Hunter

Brendan Perry to Reissue Eye of the Hunter
Brendan Perry photo by Phil Nicholls

Brendan Perry announces the reissue of his 1999 album, Eye of the Hunter, expanded for its first ever repress to now include a bonus live album Live at the I.C.A., recorded during 4AD’s residency at the storied London venue in 1993.

Some fifteen years after Dead Can Dance’s self-titled debut, Brendan Perry first stepped out on his own in 1999 with the wondrous eight track album, Eye of the Hunter.

Having mutually disbanded Dead Can Dance so he and Lisa Gerrard could focus on their own material (a hiatus that would last seven years between playing live shows and sixteen between making albums), Brendan’s debut built on his renown as a solo performer, having often played just he and an acoustic guitar during his band’s otherworldly live shows. Indeed, Dead Can Dance’s first official live album, 1994’s Toward The Within, captures just this with three Brendan solo tracks helping to set the scene for what came next.

Recorded at Brendan’s Quivvy Church studio in County Cavan in Ireland and backed by the band of Liam Bradley (drums), Glen Garrett (bass guitar) and Martin Quinn (pedal steel), Brendan performs the guitar, a 12-string guitar, mandolin and keys to achieve a rich, gothic sound while the album’s incredible production elevates his vocals to Scott Walker and Tim Buckley levels of delivery; two clear influences, the latter’s “I Must Have Been Blind Here” is thoughtfully covered here.

A record that has been out of print on vinyl since its release in 1999, people have been asking for it to be repressed for long enough. Having been mastered at Abbey Road, fans will be delighted to hear that not only is Eye of the Hunter finally being reissued but that it’s also been expanded to include Live at the I.C.A. The album’s first single “Happy Time (Live at the I.C.A.),” a Tim Buckley cover, out now comes from the latter.

Brendan Perry
Eye of the Hunter / Live at the I.C.A

Eye of the Hunter
A1. Saturday’s Child
A2. Voyage of Bran
A3. Medusa
A4. Sloth

B1. I Must Have Been Blind
B2. Captive Heart
B3. Death Will Be My Bride
B4. Archangel

Live at The I.C.A.
C1. Alone / American Dreaming
C2. Sarabande
C3. Sloth

D1. Chase The Blues
D2. Captive Heart
D3. Happy Time
D4. Don’t Fade Awa

Pre-order Eye of the Hunter / Live at the I.C.A. by Brendan Perry HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.