Braids Debut “Snow Angel” Video

Braids have shared a new video for "Snow Angel"
Braids photo by Melissa Gamache

Braids are postponing the release of their new album Shadow Offering to June 19th, via Secret City Records. Produced by Chris Walla (Death Cab For Cutie). Today, the Montreal band have given fans a taste of the album with a new video for the song “Snow Angel.” Also due to the COVID-19 circumstances, Braids’ US and European spring tour has been postponed to the fall. The new dates will be announced shortly.

Of the track, Braids said : “‘Snow Angel’ was written in the immediate wake of the 2016 US election, as our collective conscience took a sharp inhale. It’s a diary entry of sorts – a snapshot of the mind grappling with our era’s endless barrage of content and destruction, continents away and close to home. *This* moment, with our world in the midst of a pandemic, is admittedly a new context. But I can’t help but sense the song speaks to feelings many of us are experiencing – uncertainty, angst and a desperate desire to make sense of it all.

For me, it was deeply therapeutic to write and sing this song; saying things out loud can help us to not feel so alone, can help validate our natural fears about the future of our world, and can bring to light some of the hard questions that many of us are asking ourselves. I believe that art can change our relationship to fear. We hope this song can offer you a moment of catharsis and relief, in the same way writing and performing it has for us.”

Shadow Offering
Secret City Records

01 Here 4 U
02 Young Buck
03 Eclipse (Ashley)
04 Just Let Me
05 Upheaval ii
06 Fear Of Men
07 Snow Angel
08 Ocean
09 Note To Self


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.