The Bots Announce Debut LP ‘Pink Palms’

The Bots Announce 'Pink Palms' -- Debut Full-Length Album Due Out October 14th On FADER Label, The Bots play their next show on August 6 in Los Angeles, CA

Los Angeles sibling duo, The Bots (Mikaiah and Anaiah Lei), will release Pink Palms, their debut full-length album, on October 14th via FADER Label. The album, recorded in Los Angeles and produced by Justin Warfield, with additional production by Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner, brings together the veracity of garage punk while paying homage to the American Blues tradition. Pink Palms was mixed by Michael Patterson (Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G) and mastered by Emily Lazar (Haim, Arcade Fire, Foo Fighters).

 “While a lot of different music we were listening to inspired this album, it was the time in the studio we spent together writing and creating that had the biggest impact on Pink Palms,” said Anaiah.

“The process of making this album was very different from anything we’ve ever done before when recording – mostly notably that it was the first time we worked with producers,” said the band’s Mikaiah Lei. “Thematically, there’s the recurring subject matter of sadness, loneliness, and regret but underneath it all there’s an element of happiness and an overall melancholy vibe to these songs.”

 Los Angeles brothers and band-mates, Mikaiah Lei (Lead Vocal, Guitar, Bass) and Anaiah Lei (Drums & Percussions, Backing Vocal), recorded their first album together when they were just 15 and 12, respectively. They self-released their first three albums and completed two Vans Warped Tours, two AFROPUNK Fests, countless European festivals, and support tours with Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Blur, Damon Albarn’s Africa Express, Refused, and Bad Brains, among others. Fall 2013 saw their debut release with FADER Label, the four-song EP Sincerely Sorry.


1) Ubiquitous

2) Blinded

3) Won

4) All I Really Want

5) Wet Blanket

6) All Of Them (Wide Awake)

7) Alanna

8) Bad Friends

9) Ethiopia

10) Silhouettes

11) Side Effects

North America Tour Dates

8/6 – The Echo – Los Angeles, CA

8/10 – Outside Lands – San Francisco, CA

9/6 – Chill on the Hill – Detroit, MI

9/7 – Riotfest – Toronto, Canada

9/13 – Riotfest – Chicago, IL

9/20 – Riotfest – Denver, CO

9/27 – The Shindig Festival – Baltimore, MD

11/9 – Fun Fun Fun Fest – Austin, TX

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.