Boom Bip shares new video for “The Trip”

Boom Bip shares new video for "The Trip"

Written and directed by Ben Cresciman (Negative Space), SUN CHOKE stars iconic horror film actress Barbara Crampton (You’re Next, Re-Animator, Lords of Salem), Sarah Hagan (“Freaks and Geeks,” “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”) and Sara Malakul Lane (17 & Life: Jailbait, the upcoming Kickboxer: Vengeance) along with Evan Jones, Joe Nieves and Jim Boeven.

On creating the dramatic score, Boom Bip says, “The intention of the score was to keep it cerebral and minimal. Adding large dramatic strings or drums didn’t have a place with this film. There were only a few opportunities for that. As the viewer, you’re mainly looking into the faces of the characters throughout the film so I simply wanted to enhance the mood of the space the characters are in without getting in the way.

The process of developing the score for Sun Choke was to come up with an initial tone that could be repeated throughout in key places related to Janie’s hypnosis. That small piece was also used in the womb shots. From there I waited until I had a near final cut of the film before sitting down with a few instruments and recording live passes while watching the scenes. Once I had a few nice live passes in place I would return and add layers and finalize the edits.”

Throughout his career, Boom Bip aka Bryan Hollon has thrived in producing off-kilter experimental music. Boom Bip’s debut on Lex Seed To Sun (2002) was also the first album on Lex. Companion piece Corymb; arrived two years later, including songs from his Peel Sessions and remixes by Four Tet, Boards Of Canada and Mogwai.

1. Stalked
2. Fallen
3. I See Me
4. Cleansed
5. Dog Collar
6. Break In
7. Little Girl
8. Savannah
9. The Trip
10.Make Up
11. Irma
12. Aftermath
13. Films
14. Jamie