black midi Debut new track “Talking Heads”

black midi have released their new single, “Talking Heads”
black midi 'Talking Heads'

London, England quartet black midi have released their new single, “Talking Heads”. The track follows recently released single, “Crow’s Perch,” and will be available as a double A-side 12” next month via Rough Trade.

black midi is comprised of Geordie Greep (vocals/guitar), Cameron Picton (bass/vocals), Matt Kwasniewski-Kelvin (guitar/vocals) and Morgan Simpson (drums). They bonded over shared musical enthusiasms, or “liking messed up things” as Kwasniewski-Kelvin puts it, including an appreciation for rapper Danny Brown, Death Grips, Deerhoof, Miles Davis and Talking Heads. “We’ve always tried to make it heavy but danceable, melodic but good rhythms,” says vocalist and guitarist, Geordie Greep. “It is accessible music, there are experimental aspects that we’ve taken from when we went crazy at the beginning, we’ve just reigned it in to make something that is pop music.”

After playing their first North American live shows, being named a standout act at SXSW and selling out their first two shows ever in New York City, black midi will return to New York this July to play Bowery Ballroom. Additionally, they will appear at Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago, and will play shows in Minneapolis and Madison. A full list of upcoming tour dates is below.

black midi
Live Dates

Sun. May 5 – Manchester, UK @ Sounds From The Other City
Sat. May 11 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival
Sat. May 25 – Totnes, UK @ Sea Change
Thu. May 30 – Nimes, FR @ This Is Not A Love Song Festival
Fri. May 31 – Düdingen, CH @ Bad Bonn Kilbi
Sat. June 1 – Neustrelitz, DE @ Immergut Festival
Thu. June 6 – Gothenberg, SE @ Garden Festival
Fri. June 7 – Helsinki, FI @Sideways Festival
Sat. June 8 – Sun. June 9 – Paris, FR @ Villette Sonique
Mon. June 10 – Moers, DE @ Moers Festival
Sat. June 15 – Bergen, NO @ Bergenfest
Tue. June 18 – London, UK @ EartH (Concert Hall)
Thu. June 20 – Bristol, UK @ Fiddlers
Fri. June 21 – Liverpool, UK @ Phase One
Sat. June 22 – Glasgow, UK @ Mono
Sun. June 23 – Nottingham, UK @ Contemporary Space
Fri. July 5 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri. July 5 – Sun. July 7 – Moscow, RU @ Bolь Festival
Fri. July 12 – Madrid, ES @ Mad Cool Festival
Sun. July 14 – Nijmegen, NL @ Valkhof Festival
Thu. July 18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sun. July 21 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Mon. July 22 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Tue. July 23 – Madison, WI @ The Terrace at University of Wisconsin
Fri. July 26 – Hyéres, FR @ Midi Festival
Fri. Aug. 2 – Sun. Aug. 4 – Katowice, PL @ Off Festival
Sun. Aug. 4 – Waterford, IE @ All Together Now
Thu. Aug. 8 – Sat. Aug. 10 – Rees Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop
Sat. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Øya Festival
Fri. Aug. 16 – Viana do Castelo, PT @ Paredes de Coura
Fri. Aug. 16 – Sun. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Sat. Aug. 24 – Gueret, DR @ Check In Festival
Fri. Aug. 29 – Sun. Sept. 1 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Wed. Sept. 18 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Thu. Sept. 19 – Paris, FR @ La Boule Noire
Sat. Sept. 21 – Bordeaux, FR @ Barbey Indie Club
Wed. Sept. 25 – Lisbon, PT @ ZDB
Wed. Oct. 2 – Zagreb, HR @ Mocvara
Thu. Oct. 3 – Bratislava, SK @ Fuga
Fri. Oct. 4 – Budapest, HU @ Durer’s (small room)
Sat. Oct. 5 – Prague, CZ @ Underdogs’
Mon. Oct. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. Oct. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel
Wed. Oct. 9 – Cologne, DE @ Bumann & Sohn
Thu. Oct. 10 – Brussels, BE @ Beursschouwburg