“Future Me Hates Me” The Beths

"Future Me Hates Me" by The Beths is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
The Beths

The Beths are Guitarist, lead vocalist, and primary songwriter Elizabeth Stokes and guitarist Jonathan Pearce attended high school together before meeting up with longtime mates bassist Benjamin Sinclair and drummer Ivan Luketina-Johnston at the University of Auckland, where all four studied jazz. After gigging together in a variety of configurations, the quartet came together for a project exploring the pop and rock sounds of their youth. Everything clicked, and The Beths were born. Recently the band shared the title-track off their forthcoming release Future Me Hates Me, out August 6th via Carpark Records.

Their debut EP, 2016’s Warm Blood, introduced a fresh sound overflowing with explosive guitar riffs and infectious indie-rock hooks. Produced by Pearce and featuring all four members on joyful vocal harmonies that recall the best ‘60s pop, tracks like ace lead single “Whatever” and impossibly catchy standout “Idea/Intent”.

2018 will be a breakout year for The Beths. A beloved live act across Australia and New Zealand, the band will tour the U.S. and Europe as the wide re-release of Warm Blood continues to get audiences beyond the bottom of the Pacific Ocean hooked on their ebullient sounds. Their freshman album, Future Me Hates Me, also produced by Pearce, arrives later this year, more than realizing the wealth of potential announced by their EP.

The Beths
Future Me Hates Me

1. Great No One
2. Future Me Hates Me
3. Uptown Girl
4. You Wouldn’t Like Me
5. Not Running
6. Little Death
7. Happy Unhappy
8. River Run Lvl 1
9. Whatever
10. Less Than Thou

The Beths
North American Tour Dates:

June 11th – Brooklyn, NY – Alphaville
June 13th – Philadelphia, PA – Ortlieb’s
June 14th – Washington, DC – Songbyrd
June 16th – Chicago, IL – Charm School
June 20th – San Francisco, CA – The Battery
June 22nd – Los Angeles, CA – Make Out Music

The Beths are:

Elizabeth Stokes – vocals, guitar
Jonathan Pearce – guitar, vocals
Benjamin Sinclair – bass, vocals
Ivan Luketina-Johnston – drums, vocals