BadBadNotGood collaborte with Daniel Caesar

BADBADNOTGOOD is featured on Daniel Caesar's new single release "Paradise"

BADBADNOTGOOD is featured on Daniel Caesar’s new single release “Paradise” off his upcoming EP, Pilgram’s Paradise, due this November. BADBADNOTGOOD & Jordan Evans / Matthew Burnett also did the production on the track. The band will be playing Fun Fun Fun Fest in Austin on November 6th.

BadBadNotGood is a trio of musicians made up of Matthew Tavares on keys, Chester Hansen on bass, and Alex Sowinski on drums. Since their inception at Humber College’s Music Performance program in 2011, the three have challenged the rule book on improvised instrumental music and taken jazz tradition into the future.

The marriage of jazz virtuosity and hip hop source material offered a fresh take on the traditional “standard” applied to hip hop classics by taking on choice cuts from the golden era rap cannon and writing inspired arrangements for them instead of one-dimensional covers. The band became known for their compositions with BBNG2 in 2012. New songs like “Rotten Decay”, “Vices” or “UWM” carried on the proud heritage of musical juxtaposition by bringing together jazz, hip hop, punk, and dance music into vigorous balance.

Since then, they’ve collaborated with Frank Ocean, Earl Sweatshirt, MF Doom, Pharaoh Monch and RZA among many. Their notorious live performances have brought fans across the whole musical spectrum together, taking the band around the world from Coachella to Glastonbury. In 2014, the inseparable friends released their biggest project to date III on the young label Innovative Leisure.

(Innovative Leisure)
May 6, 2014

1. Triangle
2. Can’t Leave The Night
3. Confessions
4. Kaleidoscope
5. Eyes Closed
6. Hedron
7. Differently, Still
8. Since You Asked Kindly
9. CS60