“Audacious Ian Chang (feat. KAZU)”

Ian Chang drops his new album, 属 Belonging, April 24th via City Slang (Caribou, Nada Surf). The first track, “Audacious (feat. KAZU)” is accompanied by a video and vocals from Blonde Redhead’s Kazu Makino.

Ian Chang has collaborated with Moses Sumney, Kazu Makino, Joan As Policewoman, Body Language, Matthew Dear and Rubblebucket, among others, all while performing live and recording as a member of Son Lux and Landlady.

Of collaborating with Kazu on lead single “Audacious”, Chang comments: “This was one of the first songs that came together, before I had any concept of what the album was going to sound like. I was frustrated trying to flesh out the harmony for a completely different idea, when all of a sudden this crystalline and simple arpeggiated theme emerged amidst the brain fog. The rest of the instrumental came very quickly around that one part, but it didn’t feel complete yet, it felt like a scene without the lead character. That’s when I realized that it would be perfect for Kazu. There’s something about her melodies and delivery that is paradoxically melancholy and playful, earnest and nonchalant. At this point, the two of us had already met and collaborated on her solo album Adult Baby, but before that, I had been listening to Blonde Redhead for many years as a fan. Needless to say, I was thrilled when she agreed to take a stab at the song and even more so when she sent what she had written.”

Kazu adds: “This song was inspired by the evening we played on the same bill at Le Poisson Rouge in NYC (Blonde Redhead and Rafiq Bhatia). Ian had played on my record by then and I was looking for a record deal. He was playing in Rafiq Bhatia’s trio and it struck me how brave they are. The act of playing music seemed risky and exposed but also so pure… I remember he got a bit cold after the show and I lent him my sweatshirt, I felt protective of him ahaha… I still wasn’t aware then that we would get to explore so much more music together but I felt proud to be next to him and playing music on the same stage. The song comes from the impression he made on me that night.”

Ian Chang
属 Belonging
track list
City Slang

1. 舞狮 Lion Dance
2. Comfort Me (feat. Kiah Victoria)
3. Teem
4. Swarm
5. Audacious (feat. KAZU) (video)
6. Food Court
7. 雀舌 Bird’s Tongue (feat. Hanna Benn)
8. Zoetrope
9. 醉罗汉 Drunken Fist