“At The Whims” by Yves Jarvis

Yves Jarvis has shared the track “At The Whims” alongside a new video for the song that features Jarvis exuberantly dancing and singing to the track in the high desert. “At The Whims” depicts “the arc of civilization,” Jarvis explains. “From our genesis to our self-realization (‘..We’re not at the whims! We’re out on the fringe!’), humanity’s insatiable conquest (‘Unprecedented unfolding, out from their holdings and into the fray’) resulting in our ‘rise’ the fervid leap from 0 to 1 that sets society’s wheels into motion and ‘the fall of an empire’ that looms across all epochs.”

“Punctuated by the contemporary individualist, nihilist narrator, (‘Prospect in front of me is void and empty’) only to be usurped and outnumbered by the enlightened and life affirming post-chorus of ecstatic ‘YEAHs’,” he continued. “A bullish acoustic strum anchors us to the earth while harmonics wail mightily from above, evoking a desert sandstorm, while the lyrics are inspired by the poetic depth of Bob Dylan.”

The Zug, shorthand for Zugzwang, is a situation in which the obligation to make a move in one’s turn is a serious, often decisive, disadvantage. Zug is also a town in Switzerland. The Zug is an entirely self-produced venture, as from instrumentation to engineering to artwork, Jarvis the autodidact has forged a bastion for vanguard exploration within which no holds are barred. These creative mediums coalesce into a higher order of consciousness, depicting the cosmic dance we both represent inwardly and engage with outwardly.

Yves Jarvis
The Zug
Track List
Flemish Eye/ANTI-

1. At The Whims
2. You Offer a Mile
3. Prism Through Which I Perceive
4. Bootstrap Jubilee
5. Enemy
6. Gestalt
7. Thrust
8. What
9. Stitchwork
10. Endless Tube
11. Why
12. On the Line
13. Projection
14. To That End

Pre-order The Zug by Yves Jarvis HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.