Astral Swans Announce Astral Swans LP

Astral Swans is back with his self titled record Astral Swans
Astral Swans announces self-titled LP

Astral Swans is back with his self titled record Astral Swans. Swann almost exclusively composed the songs internally on solo walks throughout various cities around the world (pre-covid), and the same city over and over again (during covid). As Swann describes it, “the melodies were written in my head, on long walks alone, like spontaneous flowers sprouted from the id; ecstatic downloads from the cosmos. Sometimes the lyrics appeared with the melodies, other times they were refined more consciously, after the fact.”

Astral Swans writes songs about lonerism, frailty, absurdity, and whimsy, all told with darkly comedic empathy, and helpless concern. In 2015 Swann signed to Madic Records, the imprint of Arts & Crafts helmed by artist Dan Mangan, and created for the purpose of releasing Swann’s debut All My Favourite Singers Are Willie Nelson. 2018’s Strange Prison (co-produced by Preoccupations’ Scott Munro)

This self-titled record is described as, “Swann’s most upbeat, catchy & immediate album to date. Each song operates as an absurdist short story filled with Swann’s wry observations of the sad beauty of mundane moments. The songs range from affirmations of joy amidst dread, composed in the streets of Shimokitazawa Tokyo (Dust in A mindless Universe), to ballads of disoriented uncertainty set against the backdrop of early quarantine (Spiral). Songs about birds heckling the anxious and heartbroken in Vondel Park Amsterdam (Bird Songs), to a cover of the Cat Power classic, Cross Bones Style sung as a duet with Julie Doiron (Eric’s Trip, Mt. Eerie). The album closer Awake For a While, is an interrogation of somebody who is trying to piece together the events that transpired over many days of, well … being awake.”

Astral Swans (ST) was produced and engineered by Paul Chirka (Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra), and Brock Geiger (Reuben and the Dark), with Swann functioning as a third producer. Guest performers include: Julie Doiron (Eric’s Trip, Mt. eerie) Cassia Hardy (Wares), LT Leif, Scott Munro (Preoccupations, Chad VanGaalen), Shalom Toy (SilverRing), Laura Hickli (36?) Minami Taga (Mako Puri), Swann’s childhood friend Carolyn Sweet, Jim Bryson (Kathleen Edwards, Weakerthans) and more.

Astral Swans
Astral Swans
Victory Pool
Track List

1. Spiral
2. Flood
3. Blackhole Town
4. End of the World (Missing You)
5. Sympathy for the Stupid
6. Bird Songs
7. The Wind in a Mindless Universe
8. Cross Bones Style
9. March 28/20
10. Beautiful Things Happen
11. More Nothing Than Something
12. I Was Awake For A While

Pre-order Astral Swans by Astral Swans HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.