Animal Collective announce new album

Animal Collective announce new album, share first single "FloriDada".

Animal Collective have announced the release of their eleventh full-length album, Painting With. The album will be out globally on February 19 via Domino. Today, the band share first single ‘FloriDada’.

For fifteen years Animal Collective has been creating music, their line-up and aesthetic shifting with each new release as they continue their pursuit of different sounds and visuals . The group’s direction has taken them from cramped concrete basement shows and forest floor singalongs to immersive installations at the Guggenheim and performances on national television.

Working as a trio, Portner (Avey Tare), Lennox (Panda Bear) and Brian Weitz (Geologist) began trading demos in early 2015, pursuing a goal of what Portner calls “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” The three met up in Asheville during that Spring and began exploring the songs together. Recording took place in the legendary EastWest Studios in Hollywood, home to sessions by The Beach Boys and Marvin Gaye. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson, and was engineered by Sonny DiPerri.

The result: Painting With. Warm and personal, kaleidoscopic and high definition, concerned with art (cubism, Dadaism, and the distorted way those artists viewed the world) and the human experience, and the meeting of both – creating something elemental, joyous, and unmistakably Animal Collective.

According to their label, Painting With will be available in standard CD, LP, and a deluxe LP + 7”+ zoetropic turntable slipmat formats. The album in CD and LP formats will be available in three different covers, featuring each Animal Collective member – Avey Tare, Geologist, and Panda Bear – as painted by Brian DeGraw. The deluxe LP + 7”+ turntable slipmat format exclusively available via the Animal Collective and Domino webstores includes a choice of one of the three covers, in addition to a limited edition 7” featuring two exclusive non-album tracks mailed at a later date, and a slipmat that animates when activated in part with a strobe light. All pre-orders come with an instant download of “FloriDada”.

Painting With Tracklisting

01. FloriDada

02. Hocus Pocus

03. Vertical

04. Lying In The Grass

05. The Burglars

06. Natural Selection

07. Bagels In Kiev

08. On Delay

09. Spilling Guts

10. Summing The Wretch

11. Golden Gal

12. Recycling