Amber Arcades releases new video

Amber Arcades releases video for "Wouldn't Even't Know," featuring Bill Ryder Jones.

Following the release of her new EP Cannonball via Heavenly Recordings, Dutch musician Amber Arcades has shared a video for track “Wouldn’t Even Know” which features singer-songwriter Bill Ryder-Jones.

Director Wander Andringa says of the visuals: “Getting all the right elements together really worked for this video. An old Mercedes, two amazing characters, a dreamy band and the Dutch countryside. It’s a journey in which Annelotte and Bill find each other in the music, something that connects us even though we all have our differences.”

Annelotte de Graaf adds: “I wanted the video to look like the song sounds: flowing at a certain pass, broody, yearning and uplifting. I also really love the Sonic Youth video for their version of “Superstar”. That inspired me to do a kind of live performance of the song for the video. Mixed together with the shots driving through the Dutch countryside I think it really captures the mood of the song. Wander did an awesome job, even though I’m pretty sure me and Bill weren’t the most easily directable “actors” (sneaking sessions watching football in a pub into the day’s program) haha.”

Like debut LP Fading Lines, the EP was recorded at Strange Weather Studio in New York with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men).

The Cannonball EP opens with Amber Arcades’ reworking of the classic Nick Drake cut “Which Will” (from his seminal 1972 album Pink Moon) highlighting the band’s characteristic Krautrock-infused haze and – furthermore – Annelotte de Graaf’s reverence for an artist she truly admires. “It Changes” follows, possibly Amber Arcades’ most irresistible and compelling pop single to date. Furthermore, the EP will feature three brand new tracks in the form of “Can’t Say That We Tried”, “Wouldn’t Even Know’”(featuring Bill Ryder-Jones on vocals) and the title track, “Cannonball”. Photographer Nick Helderman shot the EP artwork.

About the EP as a whole de Graaf elaborates: “I’m so happy to be releasing these tunes. We had two days off in New York on our tour last September and we recorded them in that time. I’ve thought about postponing their release and waiting till I have more songs to make it into a full record, but I actually feel like they fit together wonderfully as an EP and am glad they get to be out there in this form.”

Amber Arcades
Cannonball EP
track listing:

1. Which Will
2. It Changes
3. Can’t Say That We Tried
4. Wouldn’t Even Know (Featuring Bill Ryder-Jones)
5. Cannonball


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.