“Alone” by A Beacon School

"Alone" by A Beacon School is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the NYC artist's forthcoming album yoyo
A Beacon School photo by Dave Scholten

A Beacon School has dropped new single “Alone.” The track was mixed by Sonny DiPerri (My Bloody Valentine, M83, DIIV) ahead of his new LP, yoyo, arriving October 13th via Grind Select label. Along with the news, the NYC artist AKA: Patrick J. Smith has also announced their album release show for yoyo, on Thurs. October 26th in Brooklyn, NY.

Here’s what Smith said about “Alone”:

““Alone” is about the moment when you feel like your luck is finally turning. Nothing’s been going your way, so when you catch the faintest glimmer of hope you grab on to it as tight as you can.”

The official follow-up to his beloved debut Cola, Smith takes his sound even further with 10 tracks that are an untainted exploration of the unconscious artistic self and the oscillation of time.

Smith began making music as A Beacon School in 2009. A home-recorded demo single was released in 2011, and a self-titled EP by a full-band lineup appeared near the end of 2012. Smith notably played with bands such as Modern Rivals and Bluffing, and currently works with Parquet Courts’ Max Savage as part of Maxband.

A Beacon School
Grind Select
Track List:

1. Middle of Winter
2. Potion
4. Jon
5. Adore
6. Alone
7. Honeyed (Stay Forever)
8. Dot
9. Down the Pyramid
10. Mantra

10/26 Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere (Zone One) – Album Release Show

Pre-order yoyo by A Beacon School HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.