Albert Hammond Jr Debuts “Memo of Hate”

Albert Hammond Jr Debuts “Memo of Hate”
Albert Hammond Jr Debuts “Memo of Hate”

Albert Hammond Jr singer/songwriter and founding member of the The Strokes, has shared a video for “Memo of Hate,” the next in a series of episodic videos directed by Angela Ricciardi and Silken Weinberg—watch.

The track is taken from Hammond Jr’s forthcoming solo album, Melodies On Hiatus, out June 23 via Red Bull Records. The “Memo of Hate” video follows previously shared videos for “100-99” featuring GoldLink and “Old Man.”

“I’m going through changes and these songs reflect behaviors and moments of mine that—as time has gone on—have taken shape and become universal,” Hammond Jr explains. “I get asked about the meaning or big picture of this album, but it’s just that writing songs and creating is who I am and feels like why I exist. My goal is to have my music be part of someone’s life, part of their fabric, and this feels like the best collection of music I’ve made and my best attempt at achieving that.”

Additionally, Hammond Jr recently confirmed his headlining On Hiatus Tour this September, which includes stops in New York and Los Angeles, with Rainsford supporting—see full routing below and get tickets here. With contributions from GoldLink, Steve Stevens, Matt Helders and Rainsford, Melodies on Hiatus features production by Gus Oberg and was co-written remotely with Simon Wilcox, mixed by Tony Hoffer (Beck, Air, M83, Metric, Chromeo) and mastered by Dave Cooley (Paramore, Spoon, Tame Impala, Jimmy Eat World,).

Albert Hammond jr
Melodies On Hiatus
Red Bull Records

1. 100-99 feat. GoldLink
2. Downtown Fred
3. Old Man
4. Darlin’
5. Thoughtful Distress feat. Matt Helders & Steve Stevens
6. Libertude
7. Memo of Hate
8. Home Again
9. I Got You
10. Caught by Night
11. Dead Air
12. One Chance
13. Remember feat. Rainsford
14. 818
15. Fast Kitten
16. I’d Never Leave
17. Never Stop
18. False Alarm
19. Alright Tomorrow feat. Rainsford

Albert Hammond Jr 2023 Tour Dates

September 14—New York, NY—Racket*
September 15—Brooklyn, NY—Music Hall of Williamsburg (SOLD OUT)*
September 16—Windham, NY—Cave Mountain Festival
September 20—San Francisco, CA—Bimbo’s 365 Club*
September 21—Los Angeles, CA—El Rey Theatre (SOLD OUT)*
September 22—Los Angeles, CA—El Rey Theatre (SOLD OUT)*
September 23—Los Angeles, CA—Lodge Room*
September 25—Santa Ana, CA—The Observatory*
* with Rainsford

Albert Hammond Jr has released four solo albums including Yours to Keep (2006), ¿Cómo Te Llama? (2008), Momentary Masters (2015) and Francis Trouble (2018).

Pre-order Melodies On Hiatus by Albert Hammond Jr HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.