ADULT. release video for “We Chase the Sound”

ADULT. Shares "We Chase the Sound" Video Feat. Shannon Funchess.

ADULT. (Detroit’s Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller) have unveiled the video for “We Chase The Sound,” featuring Shannon Funchess of Light Asylum. Filmed and edited by ADULT., the video features the wearable sculptures of Detroit designer Levon Millross.

ADULT. explain the concept of the video, “How do you visually represent sound? This was our main challenge. We concluded the most effective way to represent sound was by means of light. This then prompted us to invite Levon Millross to showcase his incredible wearable sculptures. Levon’s work embodies sound. It is created out of sound, so it was the perfect fit.” They expand, “This video reflects the space between art and life. It has an ephemeral quality, which made us instantly think of the work of Jack Smith, specifically his film “Flaming Creatures.” There is a shared sense of rhythmic power, a placeless and timeless nature, a rawness, which is filled with pulsating, ambiguously gendered, creatures. We find that just when you feel exhausted from the constant strobe and relentless bass, there is a compulsion to watch it all over and over again.”

Detroit House Guests is a collaborative project conceived by ADULT. Based on the visual artist residency model, each musician came to ADULT.’s studio for a three week period with the parameter that they all live, work and collaborate together. The result – a total anthropological sound experiment and a full-length album.

The album features collaborations with a whole host of musicians and artists – Douglas J McCarthy from Nitzer Ebb, Michael Gira from Swans, Shannon Funchess from Light Asylum, Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe aka Lichens, Austrian thereminist Dorit Chrysler and multidisciplinary artist Lun*na Menoh.

ADULT. are the Detroit duo Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller. They played their first live show together in Germany in 1997 under the name Artificial Material. In early ’98 they released their first 12″ under the moniker Plasma Co. Later that year, they released their first 12″ under the name ADULT. Currently, they have released six albums and 19 EPs or singles on Ghostly International, Thrill Jockey and Clone Records, as well as on their own label Ersatz Audio, (which currently has over 40 releases since it was founded in ’95). They have remixed over 20 acts as well, including Tuxedomoon, John Foxx, Death in Vegas and Pet Shop Boys (for Moog Music).


P rts M ss ng (featuring Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe)
Breathe On (featuring Michael Gira)
Into the Drum (featuring Lun*na Menoh)
We Are a Mirror (featuring Douglas J McCarthy)
Enter the Fray (featuring Dorit Chrysler)
Uncomfortable Positions (featuring Lun*na Menoh)
We Chase the Sound (featuring Shannon Funchess)
They’re Just Words (featuring Douglas J McCarthy)
Inexhaustible (featuring Dorit Chrysler)
Stop (and Start Again) (featuring Shannon Funchess)
This Situation (featuring Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe)
As You Dream (featuring Michael Gira)

21 April – Nashville, TN – Third Man Records
22 April – Lexington, KY – Cosmic Charlie’s
4 May – Austin, TX – The Sidewinder
5 May – Dallas, TX – Three Links
6 May – Tulsa, OK – Tulsa Overgound
10 May – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
11 May – Washington, DC – DC9
13 May – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bazaar
17 May – Allston, MA – Great Scott
19 May – Montreal, QC – NewSpeak
20 May – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground
1 June – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Tavern
3 June – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
7 June – San Diego, CA – Casbah
8 June – Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex
9 June – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
10 June – Santa Cruz, CA – The Catalyst Atrium
15 June – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
17 June – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
27 July – Belgium, Espace 1180, Brussels
29 July – Spain, Razzamatazz, Barcelona
3 Aug – UK, MOTH Club, London
4 Aug – France, Festival Visions #5, Fort de Bertheaume, Plougonvelin
6 Aug – UK, Optimo 20, The Galveniser’s Yard, Glasgow