Absolutely Free Stream LP, Tour with Alvvays

Absolutely Free Stream Debut LP, North American Tour w/ Alvvays

Next week, Toronto’s Absolutely Free will release their debut album, Absolutely Free., and today, the band is streaming the record in full. Set for release on October 14th via Lefse/Arts & crafts, the record finds the three piece honing and expanding their sound, all the while integrating new analog electronics, African polyrhythms, psychedelia, as well as wisps of Bollywood movies. Listen to the full album here.

Hailing from Toronto, Absolutely Free emerged from the ashes of cult art-punk band DD/MM/YYYY, which disbanded following eight years of shows (574 in 18 countries, to be exact). As Absolutely Free, Matt King (drums/vocals), Moshe Rozenberg (synths/drums), and Mike Claxton (synths/bass) set out to create more hypnotic and patient music than their previous work, as evidenced by the band’s early singles for One Big Silence: UFO/Glass Tassel (2012) and On The Beach/Clothed Woman, Sitting (2013).

For their debut album, the band entered the studio with producer Mike Haliechuk (Fucked Up, Austra). The end result of these sessions was Absolutely Free, a proper introduction to the band that showcases the band’s ability to hone a diverse spectrum of influences, while maintaining a unified narrative. The album opens with “Window of Time,” a track that builds from a low drone that’s slowly subsumed by cyclic organs, found sounds, and the band members’ own plaintive chanting. The ecstatic opener segues seamlessly into “Beneath the Air,” a driving, summery build and the band’s leanest song to date. Tracks like “Vision’s” and “Earth II” fuse elegant psychedelia with the patience and forward motion of krautrock motorik.

Absolutely Free — Absolutely Free.
(Lefse Records – October 14th, 2014)

1. Window of Time
2. Beneath The Air
3. Striped Light
4. Burred Lens
5. Earth II
6. My Dim Age
7. Vision’s
8. Spiral Jetty


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.