“A Whole Other Country” by Leitvox

Leitvox  recently shared his debut LP, Floating Promises, an album that includes collaborations with Ilan Rubin (Nine Inch Nails), Gavin Clark and James Griffith (Unkle) Nina Miranda (Smoke City) and Ana Karla Escobar. Floating Promises is a calm, melodious album, with ambient sounds and harmonious vocals.The songs range from alternative to trip­hop, with occasional touches of synth­pop and experimental sounds. The LP, originally released in Mexico and now in the U.S., has 9 songs and 4 bonus tracks with remixes by Ladytron, GusGus, Son Lux and Nortec.

The artwork of the album was produced by the renowned photographer Neil Krug who has directed the visual art of projects of Lana del Rey, Justice, Tame Impala and Bat for Lashes. Floating Promises was produced by Phil Vinall, who has worked with bands like Pulp, Radiohead and Placebo, with additional production by Unkle’s leader Pablo Clements.

The album’s first single, “A Whole Other Country”, features the late Gavin Clark (UNKLE) and has a music video directed by Flaminguettes that shows the beauty of Mexico from a surreal perspective. Christian Cooley (A.K.A. Leitvox) is a Mexican songwriter/producer based in Miami. His first EP, Fall From You, released in 2012, was acclaimed by the press in his country and served as a foundation for its successor Floating Promises.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.