Run The Jewels announce Third album, share “legend has it”

Run The Jewels have announced their third album 'RTJ3'
Run The Jewels have announced their third album 'RTJ3'

Run The Jewels, one of hippest most dynamic partnerships in rap have just announced their third album entitled RTJ3. RTJ3 will have a worldwide digital release date of January 13 with physical editions available on that date in North America and on January 20 internationally.

To mark the occasion, Run the Jewels also shared “Legend Has It,” the third track they’ve dropped from the upcoming album. They released “Talk to Me” in late October and “2100,” featuring BOOTS, earlier this month. Along with BOOTS, RTJ3 also includes guest spots from rapper Danny Brown, saxophonist Kamasi Washington, and TV on the Radio singer Tunde Adebimpe.

On their 3rd offering, Run The Jewels have turned their iconic “pistol & fist” imagery (conceived by El-P & drawn by Nick Gazin) 3D, rendering the original album cover concept as a sculpture of the hands cast in metal, chromed, and gold-plated. The resulting statues were beautifully photographed & brought to life by frequent collaborator Tim Saccenti, and grace the new album cover. RTJ has this to say about the artwork:

“For us, the RTJ1 hands were about ‘taking what’s yours’ – your world, your life, your attitude. The RTJ2 hands were wrapped in bandages, signifying injury and healing, which for us represented the growth in ideas and tone of that album. For RTJ3 the bandages are off, the chain is gone and the hands have been transformed into gold. For us this represents the idea that there is nothing to take that exists outside of yourself. You are the jewel.”

Their Run the World tour sets off on January 11th with a massive North American campaign, and worldwide dates to follow shortly after.

Listen to ‘Legend Has It’ below:

The full tracklist for RTJ3 is below:

1. Down (feat. Joi Gilliam)
2. Talk To Me
3. Legend Has It
4. Call Ticketron
5. Hey Kids (Bumaye) (feat. Danny Brown)
6. Stay Gold
7. Don’t Get Captured
8. Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) (feat. Tunde Adebimpe)
9. 2100 (feat. BOOTS)
10. Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) (feat. Trina)
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Oh Mama
13. Thursday in the Danger Room (feat. Kamasi Washington)
14. Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters