Björk debuts new video for “Lionsong”

Björk released new video for "Lionsong," the track comes off her album 'Vulnicura,'

Björk’s video for “Lionsong,” from her new album Vulnicura, debuts today via i-D, Thump, The Creators Project and Motherboard. The clip, directed by longtime Björk collaborators and legendary creative duo Inez & Vinoodh.

Of the video, Inez & Vinoodh note, “Björk’s character for ‘Lionsong’ had to be smooth like a spider waiting in her web and seductive like a Balinese dancer cast in bronze. She is seen as if under a microscope, baring her heart while luring us inside the bloody galaxy of her own wound.”

The video was created in collaboration between Björk, Inez & Vinoodh and visual effects production house Framestore. Framestore created a number of visual effects, including the stars and the glowing embers that surround Björk, as well as enhancing the video’s other-worldliness by extending her legs to unnatural proportions. The exquisite coloring for the piece was done by Tim Masick of Company 3, turning her into the exotic, red-toothed, bronze dancer.

“Inez & Vinoodh had some fantastic ideas about what they wanted and supplied some beautiful initial reference, that had a painterly style not dissimilar to traditional religious iconography, of characters covered in starlight,” says Framestore’s Matt Pascuzzi, “That, along with their existing album artwork, gave us some pretty beautiful reference to work from and I am immensely proud of our New York compositing and 3D teams who, in every sense, did this job for the art.”

Björk’s intimate New York shows continue at Carnegie Hall on March 14, at Brooklyn’s Kings Theatre March 18 and 22 and at City Center March 25 and 28 and April 1. The series culminates with a performance at the Governors Ball music festival in New York this June.

Vulnicura was written, produced and recorded in collaboration with Venezuelan producer Arca and British musician The Haxan Cloak. Of the album’s nine tracks, six are written by Björk with two co-written with Arca and one co-written with Spaces. Six songs are produced by Björk and Arca, one by Björk, Arca and The Haxan Cloak and two by Björk. All string arrangements are by Björk. The album was mixed by The Haxan Cloak and engineered by Chris Elms, with two songs mixed by The Haxan Cloak and Elms, and mastered by Mandy Parnell. Vulnicura is Björk’s first release since the 2011 album and multimedia project Biophilia.

1. Stonemilker
2. Lionsong
3. History of Touches
4. Black Lake
5. Family
6. Notget
7. Atom Dance
8. Mouth Mantra
9. Quicksand

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.